Major cities

Metropolitan areas

Ohio has four cities with populations over 275,000: Columbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati and Toledo. Only California and Texas have more cities of this size. Over one-half of Ohio's GDP is created in its three largest metro areas: Cleveland, Columbus and Cincinnati.

Major metropolitan areas (population over 50,000) in the state include:

  • Cincinnati
  • Columbus
  • Cleveland/Elyria
  • Dayton
  • Akron
  • Toledo
  • Youngstown/Warren/Boardman

Major micropolitan areas (population between 10,000 and 50,000) in the state include:

  1. Mansfield
  2. Findlay
  3. Lima
  4. Marion
  5. Wooster


Back to the Online Newsroom